

Board Elections – 2023

(Updated 12/15/22 - Term Limited)

The week of January 2nd the CIAB will begin board elections for the seats highlighted in gray below that expire on June 30, 2023. Board election materials will be emailed to growers and handlers. If your email is not on file with the CIAB, materials will be sent to you via regular mail. You are welcome to return your nomination and/or ballot via email to info@cherryboard.org.

In crop year 2022 Wisconsin's three-year average production is greater than 10 million pounds. Therefore, per the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) §930.20 board membership, Wisconsin will increase by one seat. This will change Wisconsin from one at-large seat to one grower and one handler seat.

The board election for the grower member seat in Utah and Wisconsin was conducted in November. Both a grower and handler seat are up for election this cycle in Utah and Wisconsin. Per the CIAB voting procedures the grower member, handler member, grower alternate, and handler alternate nomination and ballot processes are completed in this sequence to avoid a sales constituency conflict when both a grower and handler seat are up for election in the same cycle. The elected nominees are highlighted below in green. Please note nominees are not officially seated on the board until the CIAB receives a signed selection order from the Secretary of Agriculture.

The current grower members Kurt Dowd, Southern Michigan, and Barton Hawkins, Washington, are term limited as they have severed two consecutive 3-year terms on the board as members. Also, the current grower alternates Tami Balzly, Utah, and Michael Rowley, Washington, are term limited as they have severed two consecutive 3-year terms on the board as alternates.

We look forward to your participation in the election process of CIAB representatives.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the CIAB office at (517) 669-1070.

Sincerely,

Heather Weber Executive Director

leather Weber

USDA-AMS policy is that the diversity of the board should reflect the diversity of their industries in experience of members, methods of production and distribution, marketing strategies, and other distinguishing factors that will bring different perspectives and ideas to the table. When submitting nominations, the industry must consider the diversity of the population served and the knowledge, skills, and abilities of the members to serve a diverse population.

CHERRY INDUSTRY ADMINISTRATIVE BOARD

July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023

District 1 – Northern Michigan

		Al 1			
	Grower Members	Alternates			
Robert Sherman	(2022-2025)	Ted Sherman	(2022-2025)		
Cheryl Kroupa	(2021-2024)	Jared Lutz	(2021-2024)		
	Handler Members	Alternates			
Tim Brian	(2020-2023)	Keith Brian	(2020-2023)		
	District 2 – Con	tral Michigan			
District 2 – Central Michigan Grower Member Alternate					
De Miller I e i			(2022 2025)		
David Hackert	(2022-2025)	Michael Hackert	(2022-2025)		
	Handler Member	Alternate			
Richard Raffaelli	(2020-2023)	Aaron Peterson	(2020-2023)		
District 3 – Southern Michigan					
	Grower Member	Alternate			
Kurt Dowd*	(2020-2023)	Bruce Veliquette	(2020-2023)		
	Handler Member	Alternate			
Danielle Brien	(2021-2024)	Vacant**	(2021-2024)		
District 5 – Oregon					
	At-Large Member	Alternate			
Lee Schrepel	(2020-2023)	Joseph Walker	(2020-2023)		
District 6 – Pennsylvania					
A	At-Large Member	Alternate			
Dave Cox Jr.	(2020-2023)	Dave Tuckey	(2020-2023)		

CHERRY INDUSTRY ADMINISTRATIVE BOARD

July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023

District 7 – Utah

Grower M	ember	Alternate		
Curtis Rowley	(2023-2026)	Tami Balzly*	(2020-2023)	
Handler M	ember	Alternate		
Robert McMullin	(2020-2023)	Thad P. Rowley	(2020-2023)	
District 8 – Washington				
Grower Me	ember	Alternate		
Barton Hawkins*	(2020-2023)	Michael Rowley*	(2020-2023)	
Handler M	ember	Alternate		
Bryce Dorsing	(2022-2025)	Kevin Dorsing	(2022-2025)	
District 9 – Wisconsin				
At-Large N	lember	Alternate		
James Seaquist	(2020-2023)	Terrance Sorenson	(2020-2023)	
Grower M	ember	Alternate		
Terrance Sorenson	(2023-2026)		(2023-2026)	
Handler M	ember	Alternate		
	(2023-2026)		(2023-2026)	

^{*}Term Limited

^{**}Ben Ross was appointed to this vacancy by the Board on September 8, 2022. Ben's name will be submitted to the Secretary for approval with this election cycle.